Russell Crowe: 10 best films of the actor

Russell Crowe was born in New Zealand on April 7, 1964 to Alex and Jocelyn Crowe.

The actor received his first leading role at the age of 25, when George Ogilvy cast him in the movie “Crossroads.” In 1991, Russell Crowe already won his first award for Best Supporting Actor in the film “Proof” from the Australian Film Institute.

Real popularity came to Russell after the role of a skinhead in the film “Skinheads” (1992), which became one of the highest-grossing projects of the year in Australia.

This opened the way for the actor to Hollywood. In 1995, he starred in the film The Quick and the Dead, then in the films Virtuality and L.A. Confidential. In 2000, Russell Crowe was awarded an Academy Award for his role in the film Gladiator.

He was also nominated for this prestigious award in 1999 for The Insider and in 2001 for A Beautiful Mind. The actor’s filmography includes such films as “Masters of the Seas: At the End of the Earth,” “Gangster,” “Robin Hood” and others.

Gladiator (2000)

The film takes place in 180. The film tells the story of the revenge of the Roman commander Maximus, who was unjustly offended by the Emperor Commodus. According to the plot of the film, the disgraced Maximus becomes a gladiator and in the final defeats the emperor in the circus arena.

The film brought Russell Crowe real fame and an Oscar statuette.

In addition to the award for Best Actor, the historical film collected four more: Best Picture, Best Costume Design, Best Sound and Best Visual Effects.

L.A. Confidential (1997)

In the post-war years, Los Angeles was overwhelmed by a wave of organized crime. The gangs became more and more dangerous, and the mafiosi turned into living legends of the time. But one day Mickey Cohen, a mafia boss, goes to prison. It’s not hard to guess that a real war is breaking out over the place of the city’s main mafioso. At this time, Mickey’s assistants die one after another.

To restore peace to the city, the Los Angeles police join the fight against criminals. However, during the investigation, three police officers turn into real enemies.

Noah (2014)

The plot of the adventure drama Noah, directed by American film director Darren Aronofsky, is based on a famous biblical story.

The main character of the film, Noah, has always been a righteous man. One day he began to receive terrible news about the impending end of the world. He realized that in this way God was trying to tell him that a global flood was coming. He will completely destroy the world, mired in sins and violence.

Noah began building a huge ship that would protect his family from the elements. He also had to take a pair of each living creature on board, so that after the water receded, the Earth would get a second chance at life.

Hired security guard Jackson Gealey and private detective Goland March are forced to work together to solve the case of a missing girl that becomes the crime of the century. Will men be able to solve a complex puzzle if each of them has their own, rather individual methods?

Insider (1999)

The story is about Geoffrey Wigand. He loses his position as vice president of one of the largest tobacco companies. And all because he made a fuss about a substance that is part of the cigarettes he produces. This component causes real addiction among smokers.

With the support of popular TV presenter Lowell Bergman, Jeffrey begins the fight for justice. But influential people are doing everything to hush this matter up. Fortunately, they won’t succeed. Having lost their jobs, family and friends, two ordinary men begin a real war with the tobacco leaders.

Master of the Seas: At the End of the Earth (2003)

The events of the film take place during the Napoleonic Wars. The captain of the British navy, the brave Jack Aubrey, and his friend, a ship’s doctor named Stephen Maturin, receive a dispatch containing an order to find and neutralize the French ship Acheron. The destruction of this ship should radically affect the course of the war.

However, the Acheron attacks them first. After the attack, the Sudden One loses many crew members and suffers severe damage. But even despite these circumstances, Captain Aubrey begins to pursue his enemy and begins an unprecedented crossing of two oceans. Now Jack’s reputation, his own life and the lives of his crew are on the line.

In the story, America is just beginning to recover from a bloody civil war. The railway stretches across deserted lands; companies involved in its construction are buying up farm plots of local landowners. One of them is Dan Evans, a veteran of the Northern army. The owner of the railway company wants to buy his land, Evans resists, but due to his debts he has no way out.

Soon Evans’ luck smiles when Ben Wade’s gang is arrested in the area. He must be taken to the train station and put on a train to Yuma, a city where there is a federal court. Dan Evans volunteers to be one of the escorts for a fee of $200.

Nash – the main character, a promising student. One day John moves to Priston, where he finds no contact with the surrounding society. While skipping classes, John immerses himself in research. Afterwards he continued his brilliant career as a teacher.

A certain CIA agent Parcher offers the hero to work on a special task. But after taking up this case, an attempt is made on Nash’s life, and he miraculously remains alive.

Russell Crowe this time only receives an Oscar nomination; the film itself received awards in four categories: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actress, Best Adapted Screenplay.

The actor also receives due recognition for his poignant performance, winning Best Actor nominations from the BAFTA, Golden Globe and Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Les Miserables (2012)

The film tells the story of Jean Valjean, a former convict who later became the mayor of a French town. He agrees to take care of Cosette, Fantine’s illegitimate daughter.

But, as a fugitive, he is forced to hide from police inspector Javert. The plot spans 17 years and takes place against the backdrop of revolutionary events that take place in the film, ending with the Parisian uprising of 1832.

Cinderella Man (2005)

Boxer Jim Braddock has been defeated for several fights in a row. Nobody needs “whipping boys,” so Jim is forced to leave the sport. To support his family during the Great Depression, Braddock takes on any job.

Time passes and one day Jim is given the opportunity to return to the ring. He grasps at this straw and achieves unprecedented success. He defeats one opponent after another. The pinnacle of Jim Braddock’s professional career was his fight with world champion Max Baer.

ЧИТАТИ ЩЕ

10 films about Putin’s corruption

On August 31st, the documentary film “Active Activities” by Jack Bryan will premiere. This film traces the long-term relationship between US President Donald Trump and...

10 кращих фільмів про сильних жінок

Останнім часом особливо популярним в кіно стає образ сильної і незалежної жінки, яка легко справляється з завданнями, що не під силу багатьом представникам сильної статі....

Шоколад приносить щастя: 5 фільмів про солодке життя

Після класного кіно, як і після хороших солодощів, завжди залишається приємний післясмак. Але є фільми, в яких ці якості зливаються воєдино і захоплюючий сюжет на...

Рассел Кроу родился в Новой Зеландии 7 апреля 1964 года в семье Алекса и Джоселин Кроу.

Первую главную роль актер получил в 25 лет, когда Джордж Огилви отобрал его в кинофильм «Перекресток». В 1991 Рассел Кроу уже выиграл первую награду за лучшую роль второго плана в ленте «Доказательство» от Австралийского института кинематографии.

Настоящая популярность пришла к Расселу после роли скинхеда в фильме «Бритоголовые» (1992), ставшим одним из самых кассовых проектов года в Австралии.

Это открыло актеру дорогу в Голливуд. В 1995 году он снялся в фильме «Быстрый и мертвый», затем в картинах «Виртуальность» и «Секреты Лос-Анджелеса». В 2000 году Рассел Кроу был награжден премией Оскар за роль в фильме «Гладиатор».

Он также был номинирован на эту престижную премию в 1999 году за картину «Свой человек» и в 2001 за «Игры разума». В фильмографии актера можно выделить такие фильмы, как «Хозяи морей: на краю земли», «Гангстер», «Робин Гуд» и другие.

«Гладиатор» (2000)

Действие фильма разворачивается в 180 году. Фильм рассказывает историю мести римского полководца Максимуса, несправедливо обиженного императором Коммодом. По сюжету фильма опальный Максимус становится гладиатором и в финале побеждает императора на арене цирка.

Фильм принес Расселу Кроу настоящую известность и статуэтку «Оскар». 

Кроме награды за лучшую мужскую роль, историческая картина собрала еще четыре: «Лучший фильм», «Лучший дизайн костюмов», «Лучший звук» и «Лучшие визуальные эффекты». 

«Секреты Лос-Анджелеса» (1997)

В послевоенные годы Лос-Анджелес захлестнула волна организованной преступности. Банды становились всё опаснее, а мафиози превращались в живых легенд того времени. Но однажды Микки Коэн — босс мафии — попадает в тюрьму. Не трудно догадаться, что за место главного мафиози города разгорается настоящая война. В это время один за другим погибают помощники Микки.

Чтобы вернуть городу покой, в борьбу с преступниками вступает полиция Лос-Анджелеса. Однако в ходе расследования трое полицейских превращаются в настоящих врагов.

«Ной» (2014)

В основу сюжета приключенческой драмы «Ной», снятой американским кинорежиссером Даренном Аронофски, легла известная библейская история.

Главный герой фильма Ной всегда был праведным человеком. Однажды его начали посещать ужасные ведения о надвигающемся конце света. Он понял, что таким образом Бог пытается ему сказать, что грядет всемирный потоп. Он полностью уничтожит мир, погрязший в грехах и насилии.

Ной принялся строить огромный корабль, который должен был защитить его семью от стихии. Так же на борт ему предстояло взять по паре каждой живой твари, чтобы после того как вода отступит, Земля получила второй шанс на жизнь.

 «Славные парни» (2016)

Наемный охранник Джексон Гили и частный детектив Голанд Марч вынуждены работать вместе для того, чтобы раскрыть дело о пропавшей девушке, становится преступлением века. Смогут ли мужчины разгадать сложный ребус, если у каждого из них свои, довольно индивидуальные методы?

«Свой человек» (1999)

История рассказывает о Джеффри Уайгэнде. Он теряет место вице-президента в одной из крупнейших табачных компаний. А все, потому что он поднял шумиху вокруг вещества, которое входит в состав производимых сигарет. Этот компонент вызывает настоящую зависимость у курильщиков.

Заручившись поддержкой популярного телеведущего Лоуэлла Бергмана, Джеффри начинает борьбу за справедливость. Но влиятельные люди делают все, чтобы замять это дело. К счастью, у них это не получится. Лишившись работы, семьи и друзей, двое обычных мужчин начинают настоящую войну с табачными предводителями.

«Хозяин морей: На краю Земли» (2003)

События картины разворачиваются во времена наполеоновских войн. Капитан британского военного флота — отважный Джек Обри и его друг — корабельный врач по имени Стивен Мэтьюрин получают депешу, где находится приказ найти и обезвредить французский корабль «Ахерон». Уничтожение этого корабля должно коренным образом повлиять на ход войны.

Однако «Ахерон» первым атакует их. После атаки «Внезапный» теряет множество членов экипажа и терпит сильные повреждения. Но даже несмотря на эти обстоятельства, капитан Обри начинает преследовать своего врага и начинает беспрецедентный переход через два океана. Теперь на кону находятся репутация Джека, его собственная жизнь и жизни его команды.

«Поезд на Юму» (2007)

По сюжету, Америка только начала приходить в себя после кровавой гражданской войны. Железная дорога тянется по пустынным земель, компании занимаются ее строительством скупают фермерские участки местных землевладельцев. Один из них — Дэн Эванс, ветеран армии Севера. Владелец железнодорожной компании хочет купить его землю, Эванс упирается, но из-за долгов у него не остается виходу.

Вскоре Эвансу «улыбается удача», когда в месте арестовывают банды Бена Уэйда. Его необходимо доставить до железнодорожной станции и посадить в поезд на Юму — город, где есть федеральный суд. Одним из конвоиров, за плату в 200 долларов, вызывается быть Дэн Эванс.

«Игры разума» (2001)

Джон Нэш — главный герой, студент подающий большие надежды. Однажды Джон переезжает в Пристон, где не находит контакта с окружающим обществом. Пропуская занятия, Джон, погружается в исследования. После он продолжает свою блестящую карьеру преподавателем. 

Некий агент ЦРУ Парчер предлагает герою поработать над особым заданием. Но взявшись за это дело, на Нэша покушаются, он чудом остается жив.

Рассел Кроу в этот раз получает лишь номинацию на «Оскар», сам фильм получил награды в четырех номинациях: «Лучший фильм», «Лучшая режиссура», «Лучшая женская роль второго плана», «Лучший адаптированный сценарий». 

Актер также получает должное признание на свою пронзительную игру, побеждая в номинации «Лучшая мужская роль» от премий BAFTA, Золотой глобус и Премии Гильдии киноактеров США.

«Отверженные» (2012)

Фильм рассказывает историю Жана Вальжана, бывшего каторжника, который впоследствии стал мэром одного французского городка. Он соглашается заботиться о Козетту, незаконнорожденную дочь Фантины.

Но, как беглец, вынужден скрываться от инспектора полиции Жавера. Сюжет охватывает 17 лет и разворачивается на фоне революционных событий, происходящих в фильме завершаются Парижским восстания 1832 года.

«Нокдаун» (2005)

Боксер Джим Брэддок несколько боев кряду терпит поражение. Никому не нужны «мальчики для битья», поэтому Джим вынужден уйти из спорта. Чтобы прокормить семью во времена Великой депрессии, Брэддок берется за любую работу.

Идет время и однажды Джиму предоставляется возможность вернуться на ринг. Он хватается за эту соломинку и добивается небывалого успеха. Он побеждает одного оппонента за другим. Вершиной профессиональной карьеры Джима Брэддока становится поединок с чемпионом мира Максом Бэром.