10 films about programmers

The rapid development of technologies affects all spheres of human life. Cinematography quickly reacts to all changes in society. Therefore, a large number of films about programmers, artificial intelligence, hacking and virtual reality are released. Such tapes not only show various options for the future, but also describe not an easy path, even for the most intelligent programmers, to success.

We have prepared for you the 10 best films about programmers. It will be interesting for those who are in love with technology, and people in the profession, and even fans of romantic stories and historical dramas.

The Thirteenth Floor (1999)

The tape tells the story of a company that specializes in software development. The company’s programmers were able to create perfect virtual reality. Its creation coincides in time with a series of murders in the city, where many programmers live.

The heroes of the film understand that the killer can only be found in the newly created reality. It is there that he can skillfully disguise himself, hiding from his pursuers. But to find an enemy there, you need to sincerely believe in the existence of a fictional world.

The Matrix (1999)

A film that needs no introduction. The main character of the picture is the most important hacker in our world. His name is Thomas Anderson. By day, Anderson works as a programmer in a large-scale company. At night, he turns into Neo and wanders the network. For him, the day is a time with conventions and limitations, the night offers unlimited opportunities.

The turning point is when Thomas discovers the terrible truth: everything he knew and saw was an illusion. Our reality is just a digital code.

Pirates of Silicon Valley (1999)

The film is based on the book “Fire in the Valley: The Making of The Personal Computer” and tells about the times when the computer industry was just starting to develop. The picture was based on the story of old friends and sworn enemies of Bill Gates and Steve Jobs.

It all started at the dawn of the eighties, in small utility rooms. It was there that two unknown programmers invented and fantasized. After some time, their dreams came true. Yesterday’s dreamers have turned into billionaires.

Revolutionary OS (2001)

The documentary “Revolutionary OS” directed by J. T. S. Moore tells about the history of GNU and Linux. The film also tells about the development of open source and free software movements in general.

The film gives an opportunity to hear firsthand what it’s like to fight the system and compete with Microsoft and Apple. At the same time, continuing to adhere to the principles of openness.

The Imitation Game (2014)

Having chosen this picture, the viewer will enjoy watching a historical drama based on the biography of the English mathematician, logician and cryptographer Alan Turing.

It seems that the biography of a mathematician is not something that can captivate from the first minutes of viewing. However, not when it comes to one of the founders of informatics. One of the most prestigious awards in the field of computer science is also named after him.

The fate of the genius was not easy. Alan managed to crack the code of the German Enigma encryption machine during World War II. He created the “Turing Machine” and the Turing Test. But these achievements did not save him from society’s homophobia. He was forced to undergo a chemical castration procedure. After her, according to the official version, he committed suicide. However, many still believe that Turing was killed.

Citizenfour: The Snowden Truth (2014)

The director of the documentary film about Snowden was Laura Poitras. In 2013, she began correspondence over an encrypted channel with a certain anonymous person who always signed herself as Citizenfour.

In the correspondence, he claimed to be a high-ranking government official. And also has evidence that the NSA is secretly monitoring millions of people around the world. Later, the mysterious “Citizen Four” turned out to be Edward Snowden. Laura Poitras named the movie, for which she received Oscar, Satellite and BAFTA awards, his pseudonym.

The Fifth Estate (2013)

The film is based on real events. The picture tells about an attempt to expose state corruption and the lies of the authorities, which turned an Internet startup into one of the most famous and discussed organizations of the 21st century.

The Wikileaks project has managed to publish more secrets than the world’s most influential media. He revealed the shameful secrets of public services and the financial crimes of corporations.

The founders of the site were even able to gain access to one of the most secret US archives. And at that moment, an important question arose before them: what is the price of secrecy in a free society — and what is the price of its disclosure?

Who I Am – No System Is Safe (2014)

History knows many films about hackers. But the film “Who am I” is their German version. In the center of the plot is a young computer genius. Due to problems in communicating with peers, the boy finds himself in the world of code.

Unexpectedly, he is invited to join the ranks of an anti-government hacker organization. Its members want their activities directed against the indifferent majority to be noticed at the international level.

Steve Jobs (2015)

The tape is an adaptation of the life of one of the most famous American businessmen, Steve Jobs. Biographical movie  covers approximately 15 years of the man’s life, from 1984 to 1998. At this time, Steve was removed from the company’s board of directors. And he started working on programs for educational institutions.

The tape conveys the tenacity of the hero. Thanks to this quality, Jobs proved that even without a famous corporation, he is able to create real masterpieces. In the end, Apple directors were forced to invite Jobs back to their ranks as an advisor.

All the events depicted in the tape show the main character’s relationship with people. All of them played an important role in his life. But they influenced the formation of the personality of Jobs, who turned his seemingly impossible dreams into reality.

Upgrade (2018)

The film describes the near future. Technological progress has completely covered all aspects of human life. The main character of the film is an ordinary man named Gray. He repairs old cars.

One day, Gray and his wife get into an accident. And then – into the hands of a gang of scumbags, as a result of which the woman dies, and Gray is paralyzed from the neck down.

He is bedridden and cannot even imagine how to live on. The same wealthy client offers Gray to implant a chip called Stem into him. In fact, it is a super-powerful and intelligent computer that is implanted in the human nervous system in the form of a small chip. The ardent technophobe agrees to the upgrade, because it is his only chance to take revenge for the death of his wife.

ЧИТАТИ ЩЕ

The best films about the Olympics

Sport has been inspiring humanity to great achievements for thousands of years. He pushes people to find new strength in themselves and overcome themselves. The...

Стремительное развитие технологий отражается на всех сферах жизни человека. Кинематограф быстро реагирует на все изменения в обществе. Поэтому в прокат выходит большое количество фильмов о программистах, искусственном интеллекте, хакерстве и виртуальной реальности. Такие ленты не только показывают различные варианты будущего, но и описывают не легкий путь, даже самых умных, программистов к успеху.

Мы подготовили для вас 10 лучших фильмов о программистах. Интересно будет и тем, кто влюблен в технологии, и людям в профессии и даже поклонникам романтических историй или исторических драм.

А приобщиться к удивительному миру программирования поможет HTML Academy. Это нескучные курсы для всех, кто хочет окунуться в мир вёрстки и программирования.

Тринадцатый этаж (1999)

Лента рассказывает историю компании, которая специализируется на разработке программного обеспечения. Программисты компании смогли создать совершенную виртуальную реальность. Ее создание соотносится по времени с рядом убийств в городе, где живет множество программистов.

Герои фильма понимают, найти убийцу можно только в недавно созданной реальности. Там он может искусно маскироваться, скрываясь от преследователей. Но чтобы отыскать там врага, нужно искренне поверить в существование вымышленного мира.

Матриця (1999)

Фильм, который не нуждается в представлении. Главным героем картины является главный хакер нашего мира. Зовут его Томас Андерсон. Днем Андерсон работает программистом в масштабной компании. Ночью он превращается в Нео и блуждает сетью. День для него время с условностями и ограничениями, ночь дарит безграничные возможности.

Переломным становится момент, когда Томасу открывается ужасная правда: все, что он знал и видел, — иллюзия. Наша реальность — это лишь цифровой код.

Пираты Силиконовой долины (1999)

Фильм снят по книге «Fire in the Valley: The Making of The Personal Computer» и рассказывает о тех временах, когда компьютерная индустрия только начинала развиваться. В основу картины легла история о старых друзьях и заклятых врагах Билла Гейтса и Стива Джобса.

Все началось на заре восьмидесятых, в маленьких подсобных помещениях. Там двое никому не известных программистов изобретали и фантазировали. Их мечты через некоторое время осуществились. Вчерашние фантазеры превратились в миллиардеров.

Революционная ОС (2001)

Документальная лента режиссера Дж. Т. С. Мура «Революционная ОС» рассказывает об истории GNU и Linux. Также фильм повествует о развитии open source и free software движениях в целом.

Картина дает возможность из первых уст услышать о том, как это — бороться с системой и конкурировать с Microsoft и Apple. При этом продолжая исповедовать принципы открытости.

Игра в имитацию (2014)

Выбрав эту картину, зритель получит удовольствие от просмотра исторической драмы на основе биографии английского математика, логика и криптографа Алана Тьюринга.

Кажется, биография математика не то, что способно захватывать с первых минут просмотра. Однако не тогда, когда речь идет об одном из основоположников информатики. В его имя также названа одна из самых престижных премий в области информатики.

Судьба гения была нелегкой. Алану удалось взломать код немецкой шифровальной машины «Энигма» во время Второй мировой войны. Он создал «Машину Тьюринга» и тест Тьюринга.

Но эти достижения не спасли его от гомофобии общества. Его заставили пройти процедуру химической кастрации. После нее, по официальной версии, он покончил с собой. Однако до сих пор многие считают, что Тьюринга убили.

Citizenfour: Правда Сноудена (2014)

Режиссером документального фильма о Сноудена стала Лора Пойтрас. В 2013 году она начала переписку по зашифрованному каналу с определенным анонимом, который всегда подписывался как Citizenfour.

В переписке он утверждал, что является высокопоставленным чиновником. А также доказательства того, что АНБ тайно следит за миллионами людей по всему миру. Позже загадочным «Гражданином четыре» оказался Сноуден. Лора Пойтрас назвала его псевдонимом фильм, за который получила премии «Оскар», «Спутник» и BAFTA.

Пятая власть (2013)

Фильм основан на реальных событиях. Картина рассказывает о попытке разоблачить государственную коррупцию и ложь власти, которая превратила Интернет-стартап в одну из самых известных и обсуждаемых организаций 21-го века.

Проект Wikileaks смог обнародовать больше тайн, чем самые влиятельные в мире СМИ. Он раскрывал позорные секреты государственных служб и финансовые преступления корпораций.

Основатели сайта даже смогли получить доступ к одному из самых секретных архивов США. И в этот момент перед ними встал важный вопрос: какая цена тайны в свободном обществе — и какова цена ее разглашение?

Кто я (2014)

История знает множество фильмов о хакерах. Но фильм «Кто я» — их немецкая версия. В центре сюжета молодой компьютерный гений. Из-за проблем в общении со сверстниками, парень находит себя в мире кода.

Неожиданно его приглашают вступить в ряды антиправительственной хакерской организации. Ее участники хотят, чтобы их направлена против равнодушной большинства деятельность была замечена на международном уровне.

Стив Джобс (2015)

Лента является экранизацией жизни одного из самых известных американских бизнесменов Стива Джобса. Биографический фильм охватывает примерно 15 лет жизни человека, с 1984 по 1998 год. В это время Стива исключили из совета директоров компании. И он начал заниматься программами для образовательных учреждений.

Лента передает упорство героя. Благодаря этому качеству Джобс доказал, что даже без именитой корпорации, способен создавать настоящие шедевры. В конце концов, директора Apple были вынуждены снова пригласить Джобса в свои ряды на правах советника.

Все события, изображенные в фильме, показывают отношения главного героя с людьми. Все они сыграли в его жизни важную роль. И повлияли на формирование личности Джобса, воплотил в реальность свои казались невозможны, мечты.

Апгрейд (2018)

Фильм описывает недалекое будущее. Технологический прогресс полностью охватил все аспекты человеческой жизни. Главный герой ленты обычный человек по имени Грей. Он занимается ремонтом старых автомобилей.

Однажды Грей с женой попадают в аварию. А после — в руки банды отморозков, в результате чего женщина погибает, а Грей оказывается парализованным ниже шеи.

Он прикован к постели и даже не представляет, как жить дальше. Тот самый богатый клиент предлагает Грею вживить в него чип под названием Stem. По сути это сверхмощный и умный компьютер, который в виде небольшого чипа имплантируется в нервную систему человека. Упорный технофоб соглашается на апгрейд, ведь это его единственная возможность отомстить за гибель жены.

В HTML Academy вы можете с нуля освоить вёрстку и программирование: HTML, CSS, JavaScript и PHP. Попробуйте начать с бесплатных интерактивных курсов, чтобы понять ваше это или нет. Ещё более девятисот заданий ждут вас по подписке.

Если вы настроены серьёзно, то в Академии есть программы профессионального обучения.Там вас ждёт работа над настоящим проектом под руководством опытного разработчика — личного наставника, полезные материалы и лекции. Больше интересного вы найдёте в блоге.

Кстати, прямо сейчас в разгаре сбор игроков на новогоднее приключение с гарантированной наградой. В рамках него, с 1 по 6 января будут открыты для прохождения платные курсы. Присоединяйтесь, старт 1 января!

HTML Academy
HTML Academy
park house