В ожидании варваров
В ожидании варваров

A trailer for the film adaptation of John Maxwell Coetzee’s novel “Waiting for the Barbarians” has been published. The premiere of the tape took place last year at the Venice Film Festival. And it is planned to release it for wide distribution in August.

The plot of the tape takes place in a small town on the outskirts of a certain Empire, where the invasion of barbarians is tensely expected. The main character, on whose behalf the narration is conducted, is a Judge who begins to doubt the advisability of the policy of the leadership of the Empire. This is facilitated by the arrival from the center of the ominous Colonel of the Third Section (that is, the state security) Joll and his subordinate Mendel, who show inadequate cruelty towards the prisoners. As a result, the Judge himself turns out to be an “enemy of the people”.

The main role of the judge in the film was played by Mark Rylance (Oscar winner for the film “Spy Bridge”). Jolla and his assistant Mendel were played by Johnny Depp and Robert Pattinson. The film was directed by Ciro Guerra, Colombian Laureate of the Cannes Film Festival (“The Embrace of the Serpent”).

The author of the political thriller Waiting for the Barbarians, John Maxwell Coetzee, is a Nobel laureate and two-time Booker Prize winner. This work of his was included in the list of the best works of the XX century according to the British publishing house Penguin Books. And the French composer Philip Glass wrote an opera based on the novel.

We will remind, earlier released the trailer for the series Luca Guadagnino “We are who we are.

park house

В ожидании варваров
В ожидании варваров

Опубликован трейлер экранизации романа Джона Максвелла Кутзее «В ожидании варваров». Премьера ленты состоялась в прошлом году на Венецианском кинофестивале. А в широкий прокат её планируют выпустить в августе, пишет CutInsight.

Сюжет ленты разворачивается в маленьком городке на окраине некоей Империи, где напряжённо ожидается вторжение варваров. Главный герой, от лица которого ведётся повествование, — Судья, начинающий сомневаться в целесообразности политики руководства Империи. Этому способствует прибытие из центра зловещего полковника Третьего отделения (то есть госбезопасности) Джолла и его подчинённого Менделя, которые проявляют неадекватную жестокость по отношению к пленным. В результате сам Судья оказывается «врагом народа».

Главную роль судьи в картине исполнил Марк Райлэнс (отмеченный «Оскаром» за фильм «Шпионский мост»). А Джолла и его помощника Менделя сыграли Джонни Депп и Роберт Паттинсон. Режиссёр картины – колумбийский лауреат Каннского кинофестиваля Сиро Герра («Объятия змея»).

Автор политического триллера “В ожидании варваров” Джон Максвелл Кутзее является Нобелевским лауреатом и двукратным лауреатом Букеровской премии. Это его произведение вошло в число лучших произведений XX века по версии британского издательства Penguin Books. А французский композитор Филип Гласс написал на основе романа оперу.

Напомним, ранее вышел трейлер сериала Луки Гуаданьино «Мы те, кто мы есть».